No spring chicken

30 Mar

As any public school parent in the area knows, we are currently in the eye of the standardized testing storm.  Basically, what this means for me is I haven’t slept in a week, have been injecting coffee directly into my veins, and my classroom jokes have gotten all the more punny (notice, NOT funny).

So as I was walking around the room yesterday, doing approximately the 16 millionth review activity, I heard from across the room, “Miss B, you should totally be a fashion designer for the elderly.”  Expecting to see a face cracking up,  instead I saw a dead-serious, well-meaning, sweetheart of a smile.  As the rest of my 22 kids fell into a frenzy of laughter, I began mentally editing the number of scarves on my daily rotation.

Because if a few grey hairs is enough to give me a heart attack, being mistaken as a fashion designer for the elderly…?

We’re talking full-on melt down, people.

{4-way animal print tank: thrifted}  {green pants: TJ Maxx} {cobalt kitten heels: thrifted} {jeweled owl necklace: gift from student} {rose gold watch: Michael Kors}

See these pieces restyled here:

  
 
8 Responses to “No spring chicken”

  1. silenceisopal March 30, 2012 at 9:02 am #

    Elderly people need fashion too, and i’m sure that your student just has the keen sense to know that you, being as patient and kind hearted as you are, are the person that could handle the task. Take this as a compliment. 🙂
    Also, kids are awesome because their mouths and brains are directly connected and have no filter. haha.

    • The Chic Teach March 31, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

      I can handle children, no problem! Elderly on the other hand? Let’s just say there’s a reason I work with 11 year olds… 😀

  2. Dawn March 30, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    Hahahahahahahaha!!!!!!! I’m laughing with you, not at you! 😀 😀 😀 That’s funny.

  3. aprilgia April 2, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

    Don’t you just love how unedited students can be!?! Hope that testing finishes soon!

  4. Adriana (@ADRlMADRlD) April 5, 2012 at 11:52 am #

    Can I have your pants? lol I love colored jeans and this color is so vibrant I love it. I recently bought some in yellow! Now I am looking into getting some more in different colors!
    http://thelittlepetite.blogspot.com/

    • The Chic Teach April 7, 2012 at 11:00 am #

      Adriana, I bought these then went back the next day to buy the rest of the colors! At $18 a pop, they’re irresistible 🙂

  5. Kansas Couture April 5, 2012 at 4:30 pm #

    I love the bright jeans and the color combo of the jeans and shoes!

Leave a Reply

