Baller, shot-caller, brawler

7 Mar

Usually, when I’m on recess duty, I am all about being the patroller.

I waltz about the playground, observing the kids playing 4-square (not the check-in app), knockout, and catch, stifling any deep-seated desire to join them.

Usually, I can’t join due to my unfortunate footwear, or the “liability of playing at school”.

I am just happy to get a break of sunshine and warmth with my kids.

But.  Yesterday was the exception to every “usually” ever.

You see, it was a balmy, breezy 73 degrees, the sun was beating down on me, and there was a worn purple football resting peacefully at my feet.  It was begging to be thrown, tossed about, and passed through the springy wind!  It wanted to feel sun and warmth on its leathery body, too!

So, I gave in to my desires.

One toss to a student slowly turned into two, until I had a game of catch covering half the playground.  Kid upon kid began to join, and, thanks to a humbling lesson, my whimper of a throw turned into a spiral even Tebow would be jealous of.

I was feeling confident.

So I “went long”, as they say, to receive my student’s mega pass.  Mid-catch, I realized my Blackberry was in hand, so I tossed it aside to receive her powerful throw.  Caught in the moment, I threw my beloved connection to the world on the heated concrete, just in time to softly cradle the football in my arms.

Blackberry cracked, but ego fully intact, I waltzed off the blacktop finally knowing how to throw a football, and not caring that my precious device had half-bitten the dust.

It’s on tomorrow, 5th grade.  And this time I’m leaving my Crackberry inside.

{psst…the reason why I’m glaring to my left is because there was a mega-dog growling at me this whole time.  Yikes!}

{black top: F21} {lime green pencil skirt: thrifted} {cobalt kitten heels: thrifted} {cobalt waist belt: thrifted} {parrot scarf: gift from gran} {metal owl bracelets: gift from gran} {rose gold watch: Michael Kors}  

See these pieces restyled here (click photo to see more photos):

  

2 Responses to “Baller, shot-caller, brawler”

  1. two birds March 7, 2012 at 8:35 am #

    i bet those kids love you! and were you doing all of this in the amazing outfit above??

  2. jeanette l. johnston March 7, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    TOUCHDOWN!! Love the blue belt, shoes and scarf! Phones are replaceable but moments like that will last a life time! You Go ChicTeach!

Leave a Reply

