Reality check

5 Mar

When I was in college, I lusted endlessly after higher-end clothing stores.  J. Crew and Anthropologie catalogs left me drooling and dreamily filling up my future career wardrobe with their over-priced wares.  I would lament to my mother, “One day, ma!  One day I will stock my wardrobe with those beautiful things, and look like the well-polished professional that I truly am!”

Fast forward 4 years, and I still can’t afford those fancy schmancies.  But I can drool, right?

Instead of being bummed that my meager teacher budget doesn’t allow such niceties as J. Crew and Anthro, I learned to knock-off the heck out of their stuff! Today’s pants are an unabashaded carbon copy of the pants I lusted after at J. Crew just last month. From this outfit, to these bottoms, I refuse to give them chunks of my hard-earned paycheck!

Then I can revel in the fact that I just saved myself $100.  And that, my friends, is something this professional is truly proud of.

{striped top: Target} {purple pants: TJ Maxx} {grey kitten heels: Target} {golden belt: Thrifted} {vintage wooden bracelets: gift from gran} {rose gold watch: Michael Kors}  

See these pieces restyled here (click photo to see more photos):

 

Leave a Reply

