Sock it to me!

2 Mar

The other day, I wore my hair in a messy bun to work.  My colleague walked in and quipped, “Oh my gosh, is that a sock bun?!  I love it!”   I sort of nodded and laughed awkwardly, muttering under my breath something confusingly incoherent.  If by “sock bun” she meant “wildly explosive bun atop your crown”, then yes, it was indeed a sock bun.

But, having NO idea what the aforementioned bun actually was, naturally I turned to Google for guidance and direction.

And apparently, sock buns DO exist!  I used this tutorial, and after the first attempt that looked like a bomb went off, voilà!  Très chic in under 60 seconds.  Totally my type of hairdo.

So, you should give it a whirl this morning.  You might feel a little school marmish and odd with a sock on top of your head, but if you can get over that, it makes you feel like a prima ballerina all day long.

And that’s my idea of a dream come true.

{patterned blouse: Pac Sun} {tan full skirt: J. Crew} {chocolate tights: Target} {golden yellow sweater: Target}{beaded belt: thrifted} {rose gold watch: Michael Kors} {most uncomfortable shoes in the world: thrifted} 

See these pieces restyled here (click photo to see more photos):

   

8 Responses to “Sock it to me!”

  1. julianne March 2, 2012 at 8:20 am #

    i really like this outfit. and the bun is adorable

    • The Chic Teach March 4, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

      Thanks, girl! I thought of you when I wore it, you know, since you’re not a bun fan 😉

  2. two birds March 2, 2012 at 8:31 am #

    well you look amazing, sock on your head or not! i have tried that, but i don’t know if my hair is too fine or what, but i can’t get it to work. try and try again, i guess!

    • The Chic Teach March 4, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

      If at first you don’t succeed…I find that the dirtier my hair is, the better it styles.

  3. Dawn Hunsicker March 2, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    Wow, thank you for teaching me the sock bun. When my hair is long enough again one day, I shall definitely try it.

  4. jeanette l. johnston March 2, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

    What a cute outfit! love everything about it! Including the fun hair bun!

Leave a Reply

