Green with envy

17 Feb

Yesterday, as I was having the type of morning dreams are made of,  I decided to finally attempt to don this skirt.  Now, if I was having the type of morning dreams are made of, then this skirt was the natural garment for the day: fabulous length, not-too-tight shape, and gloriously pucker green in color.

During a “Life sucks, let’s shop” mood last week, I saw it hanging on the racks at the local thrift, and I passed it by.  One glance told me it was far too large, even for my hips of glory, which is seriously saying something.  I continued to browse, but try as I might, I couldn’t forget the piercing pea green color.

So, naturally, I circled back around and snagged it.

As soon as I zipped it up, I felt like I was channeling this girl, and knew that a well-placed waist belt would save me from swimming in yards of fabric.  $5 later and I had both the Grinch green pencil skirt and cobalt blue waist belt.

And thank God I decided to wear this skirt yesterday, of all days.  Because after a morning studded with projectile vomiting from a student IN my classroom and multiple technical difficulties, this green skirt was just about the only thing that kept me sane.

And lots, and lots of chocolate.  Natch.

Oh, and P.S.  This is the last day to enter my giveaway!  I’m moving tomorrow, so I need your advice ASAP 🙂 

{plaid ruffled shirt: Old Navy} {green pencil skirt: thrifted} {grey tights: Target} {cobalt blue waist belt: thrifted} {rose gold watch: Michael Kors} {brown short boots: thrifted} {ribbon ring: Icing}  {glasses: F21}

See these pieces restyled here (click photo to see more photos):

  

Leave a Reply

