Surprise, surprise

10 Feb

For a few years now, I’ve had a serious girl-crush on Ingrid Michaelson.    Her voice and lyrics are so natural and unadulterated, unlike many of the musicians I tend to indulge in.

I’m looking at you, Katy, Nicki, and Taylor.

So, when she released her tour dates a few weeks back, I frantically combed the list, looking for any shows within a 200-mile radius.  Surprise, surprise, there were zero shows anywhere even remotely close (but definitely 70,000 shows in California).

And the show in Chicago, one of my very favorite American cities, was definitely on my brother’s wedding day.  Argh!

So, I did what any true devotee would do, and whipped out my year-long planner.  Combing through every possible show, date after date got the axe.

But low and behold, the skies parted and stars aligned, and I snagged 2 tickets to her Mid-April show in Madison, Wisconsin.   I might not have anyone to go with, and her show might be in a completely unfamiliar town.  I mean, are they known for cheese?  Or is that Minnesota?  And is there a difference between those two states?  I’m not sure.

All I know is I get to cross one more item off my infinitely long bucket list, and spend an evening like a giddy teenager all over again.

(Psst:  This faux bob is totally inspired by this lil’ lady!)

{patterned blouse: Pac Sun} {twill blue mini: J. Crew}  {rust cardigan: Old Navy} {ivory herringbone tights: Target} {shirt brown leather boots: thrifted} {rose gold watch: Michael Kors} {paisley purple and green scarf: vintage}

 

See these pieces restyled here (click photo to see more photos):

  

  

One Response to “Surprise, surprise”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oh, what a day… « The Chic Teach - April 16, 2012

    […] Remember my impulsively purchased trip to Madison? […]

Leave a Reply

