They found me!

20 Jan

Yesterday during writing, I was introducing my students to putting dialogue in their personal narratives*.

I mentioned that, occasionally, I like to add dialogue to my writing.  It helps break up chunks of narrative, breathe life into a dull story, deepens character development, etc.  As I was waxing poetic about dialogue, one of my students shot her hand up into the air, and had the sliest of smirks on her cute little face.

“Yes, dear?”

“Miss B, do you like to put dialogue into your writing…like on your BLOG?”  she asked, wide-eyed and smirking ear to ear.

I responded confusedly, as kids begin to whisper around us, “um, sure, just like when I write on my blog!”

She responds, whispering, “I know, Miss B.  I found it.”

“Ohh, that’s weird.  Back to the PowerPoint!” I quickly changed subjects.

She just wouldn’t let it go, and interrupted me, saying, “I’ve read every single post!”

Oh, dear god.

“You have?  Really?  There’s some terrible ones on there…ha!” I mutter, beginning to sweat like a child who’s been caught.

Perhaps, perhaps, perrrrhaps Miss B”.

Oh, dear god.

*Side note: have you ever realized how many rules there are to writing dialogue?  It’s a bit nightmareish for 25-years-olds, let alone 10-year-olds.  

{cobalt blazer: F21} {black skirt: F21 via thrift }  {golden tank: Gap} {red patterned belt: thrifted} {red suede wedges: Target} {black opaque tights: I forgot!} {rose gold watch: Michael Kors}  {arrowhead red earrings: F21}

See these pieces restyled here (click photo to see post):

    

3 Responses to “They found me!”

  1. jeanette l. johnston January 20, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

    That is too Cute!!! Good thing you know to censor your stories!

  2. Stanci January 20, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

    BAHAHAHAHA!!! Darnit, now you’re going to think about that every time you write something. Smart kids.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Have you ever… « The Chic Teach - January 21, 2012

    […] Friday: A student found my blog! […]

Leave a Reply

