The geek teach

16 Jan

When I was a student, I was completely and utterly mathematically inept.  I’m talking about taking and retaking the lowest math classes available, simply because I couldn’t grasp the most fundamental of concepts.  Sure, maybe I was slightly more concerned with socializing than I was solving variables, but math and I have long been mortal enemies.

So, when I found out I would be teaching math last spring, anxiety quickly shot through my body.  Clearly, I would have to confront my fear and distaste of math head on.

And confront I did.

From long division, to equations, double-digit multiplication, to input-output tables, I retaught myself and began to own the very soul of 5th grade math.  Maybe countless tears were shed and endless mutterings under my breath were whispered, but somehow I began to enjoy, nay, love math.

So, when the opportunity came about at semester for me to try my first-year hand at teaching reading, I was hesitant.  I’d just gotten the hang at the whole math thing, so scratching that for teaching reading was, quite frankly, scary.

But if I’ve learned one thing, it’s this: if math is the austere, serious, type-a boyfriend, then reading is his artsy, hippie, free-spirited older brother.

I’m sorry I’m taking a break from you, math, but there’s a newer, more handsome, enticing subject in my life.  I’m sure you understand, and I can’t wait to see you again, you know, after a little time apart.

 

Psst: View the headscarf tutorial here!

{golden cardigan: Target} {green cotton top: F21}  {blue cotton skirt: JCrew} {golden tights: Target} {green knee-high socks: Kohl’s}  {vintage taupe boots: eBay} {vintage beaded belt: thrifted}  {glasses: F21} {headscarf: thrifted} {rose gold watch: Michael Kors} 

 

See these pieces restyled here (click photo to see post):

    

2 Responses to “The geek teach”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Have you ever… « The Chic Teach - January 21, 2012

    […] Monday: I got a wee bit nerdy […]

  2. Fashion victim! « The Chic Teach - March 9, 2012

    […] paint me red and call me fashion-less!  Scarves are my very favorite fashion accessory, seen here, here, and here (as well as 90% of my other […]

Leave a Reply

