Perhaps, perhaps, perrrrhaps

13 Jan

It’s no secret that I’ve always been (and still am) far from cool.

Not so much in the “I’m so academically advanced and my IQ is sky high” category, but more in the “I’m socially awkward and have a hard time carrying on conversations with members of the opposite sex” category.

I’m working on it, slowly but surely, but last night was a classic example of Awkward Kayla.

So, I’d gone on a date with a nice country-ish guy, but quite frankly, I wasn’t feeling it on The Chic Teach end of things.  At least the food was positively sublime (vegan comfort food, FTW!) and the in house DJ was spinning the most bizarre, psychedelic 70s tunes this side of Portland.  But alas, the stars were not aligning.  An hour into it, I used all my willpower to not check my watch, cell phone, or take repeated trips to the bathroom for a mental break.

Yeah.  Yikes.

At the end of our date, and multiple yawns followed by, “Man, I’m SO TIRED.  Long day!”, he got the check and we left.  As we walked outside in the blustery Kansas City night, and he turned his head toward me.  “Well, this was a wonderful time.  I’d really love to do this again!”, he smiled.

I whipped my Eskimo hat up onto my head, and ever so awkwardly responded with, “Perhaps…perhaps…”.

He just cocked his head to the side and stared at me, obviously perplexed by my odd response.  I think it sounded like I was playing hard to get.  But really it was my deeply awkward way of saying, “No thanks!  But I am too uncomfortable to say ‘absolutely not’, so I’ll just quote 2/3 of a Cake song as my response instead.”

{vintage ruffled top: thrifted} {velvet blazer: thrifted}  {black skirt: F21 via thrift} {polka dot tights: Target} {Golden pumps: Aldo}  {rose gold watch: Michael Kors} 

See these pieces restyled here (click photo to see post):

    

3 Responses to “Perhaps, perhaps, perrrrhaps”

  1. Paula January 14, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

    So does he know you have a blog?!

    • KB January 15, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

      Ha! Of course not 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. They found me! « The Chic Teach - January 20, 2012

    […] “Perhaps, perhaps, perrrrhaps Miss B”. […]

Leave a Reply

