The oddity of the internet

8 Jan

The online blogging world and resulting relationships are very strange waters to maneuver, if I do say so myself.

You see, there comes a point when you’ve followed the lives of perfect strangers long enough, you begin to feel like you actually know them know them.

Me, being the socially awkward freak that I am, will take it upon myself to randomly e-mail said bloggers out of the blue.

Take, for example, the message I sent Joy the Baker a year and a half ago, exuberantly exclaiming, “OMG, there is a customer at the coffee shop I work at, and I’m SO convinced she’s your twin! Every day when I make her latte, I want to be like ‘OMG you’re totally Joy the Baker’s twin’ LOL!”.

And Joy, God bless her, she responded with quite possibly the kindest and shortest response in history.  It was something to the effect of,  “Oh, you’re so sweet!”

I’m such a weirdo sometimes.  Please tell me I’m not alone?

Around The Chic Teach this week:

2 Responses to “The oddity of the internet”

  1. two birds January 8, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

    no way…you really feel like you know each and every blogger that you read every day. and why wouldn’t you…on a daily basis, we are all sharing some of our most personal thoughts! so i am right there with you!

    • KB January 8, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

      Good golly, I couldn’t agree more. I used to read more lifestyle bloggers, and I literally felt like family. Kinda creepy, kinda awesome!

Leave a Reply

