Inspiration: Miami Vice

2 Jan

I’m gonna go ahead and kick off the year with probably one of my favorite outfits I’ve ever worn.

You see this Miami Vice blazer?  One night, after dropping off my lil’ car to get some painfully pricey repairs, I was needing a little bit of retail therapy to ease the financial blow.  I realize how monetarily counter-productive this sounds, okay?

So, as I was digging through the shelves and rolling racks, trying to ignore the hundreds I’d be shelling out in just a few moments, I found this gem of a blazer.  My eyes began to widen with the endless styling possibilities, but with a high price tag, I reluctantly put it back on the rack.  $12.99 for a blazer?!  Even I have my limits.

I continued to peruse the aisles one final time.  As I walked to the fitting room, the blazer again caught my eye, and I impulsively added it to the growing pile of fabric in my hands.

Vintage sweater, after blazer, after pencil skirt, after kitten heel were fitting with utmost perfection, and this blazer somehow, even with it’s bank-breaking price tag, made the cut.

I edited out one or two pieces to help ease the pain of the over-prices blazer,  and approached the fellow ginger working the register.  He began to read the prices of my items aloud, following with a hushed, “you gotta be kiddin’ me!”.  Next thing I know, my $4.99 heels rang up two-something; my sweaters were all 50% off.  And the blazer?  It was miraculously $6.99.

Two bags of clothes for under $20, and endless Miami Vice moments?

Priceless.

{black denim: H & M} {black tank and shirt: F21} {blazer: Evan Piccone, vintage}  {red suede wedges: Target} {rose gold watch: Michael Kors} {fish necklace: F21} {sunglasses: Icing} {skinny belt: gift} {rings: family heirlooms}

See these pieces restyled here (click photo to see post):

        

11 Responses to “Inspiration: Miami Vice”

  1. Taylor January 2, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    No, THIS is my favorite outfit!

    • KB January 2, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

  2. Sherry Long January 2, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    Sure wish I had your love of shopping! Gosh, I also wish I had an eye for cool fashion!!

    • KB January 2, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

      Sherry, what are you saying!? You look great and ooze confidence…that’s something you can’t buy 🙂

  3. Megan January 2, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    Such a cute outfit! That necklace is so fun 🙂

    • KB January 2, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

      I’m telling you, Forever 21’s necklaces have saved countless outfits for me 😀

  4. niftythriftygoodwill January 2, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

    I LOVE THAT. The other day I tentatively bought a pair of nine west heels I found at Goodwill, only to find at the register that they were 50% off making them only 3 bucks. WOO! You totally lucked out!

    • KB January 2, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

      Gosh, I stinkin’ love a good deal!

  5. jeanette l. johnston January 3, 2012 at 6:39 am #

    Your Jacket is a Classic! Love the way you pulled it all together!

    • KB January 8, 2012 at 9:12 am #

      Thanks, Lady JJ!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Glitter, sequins, gold, and silver « The Chic Teach - January 4, 2012

    […] Categories Uncategorized ← Inspiration: Miami Vice […]

Leave a Reply

