The straight and narrow

21 Dec

Growing up, I had some seriously, horrifyingly awful haircuts.  Don’t even get me started on the time I asked for this:

(source)

and instead got this:

source

True story, you guys.  Suffice it to say, I cried for weeks and gave deadly dagger eyes to the guilty hairdresser.  I’d add a photo, except for I refused to be photographed during this painful period.

So, for about 4 years after that, I let my hair grow and grow, until I chopped it off again.

No bull cuts this time!  Fast forward 3 years without a haircut, and you have Rapunzel-esque hair!  Okay, that’s a slight exaggeration, but it’s the longest I’ve had it, perhaps in my whole life!

As hard as it is to admit, my normally curly locks have definitely become part of my identity.  I couldn’t imagine life without my big, obnoxious fro. It perfectly mirrors who I am as a person: carefree, larger than life, and spicy*.

*I despise the term “spicy”, I just wanted to see if anyone actually reads this far.

{high waisted jeans: F21} {black velvet blazer: Express, thrifted} {polka dot cropped shirt: thrifted} {red suede wedges: Target}  {white watch: Kohl’s} {green jingle bell earrings: borrowed from my ma}

See these pieces restyled here: 

        

8 Responses to “The straight and narrow”

  1. H. E. Lexus December 21, 2011 at 8:10 am #

    very spi… just kidding… 😉 You look fantastic. 😉

    • KB December 22, 2011 at 9:38 am #

      Thank you!!

  2. Sara Soda December 21, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    Such an adorable look! I have curly hair too, and it’s also the longest it’s ever been! Kind of a pain to take care of, but I love it. 🙂 Totally know how you feel!

    • KB December 22, 2011 at 9:40 am #

      Yes, it’s a huge pain in the booty, but worth it (usually!). Your hair is gorgeous!

  3. Tracy newton December 21, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

    Love it……as Brooklyn says and writes it on everything especially after her name. Her trademark now. Really though I enjoyed it you look so beautiful.

    • KB December 22, 2011 at 9:41 am #

      Aw, that means so much coming from you, Trace! Love you guys ❤

  4. stanci December 22, 2011 at 7:52 am #

    How did you get it straight??? Gorgeous! But not every day, friend. Would miss your spicy red halo of curls way too much 😉 xoxo

    • KB December 22, 2011 at 9:42 am #

      Lots and lots and lots of flat ironing and hair brushing. It was a huge pain and I kind of despise doing it, ha! We’re definitely more curly headed girls, if I do say so myself 😉

Leave a Reply

