What do I wear?

16 Dec

A few weeks ago, I received an invite on Facebook for a childhood friend’s Christmas party.

Assuming it was going the tacky sweater route, I didn’t prepare for the party, at all.  I just assumed I’d stop at the local thrift store and grab something last minute.

And then, I came home from work a week later to find a very delicate, pearlized envelope nestled amongst various other junk.  Low and behold, it was a legit invitation to a legit Christmas party!  With fancy typeface, gorgeous cardstock, and streamlined design, I quickly realized this was not my average sugar cookie and hot cocoa event.

This was my first real deal, adult Christmas soiree (I use that word dramatically).

So, I did what any normal person would surely do, and immediately text bombed my date to see what she would be wearing.  Granted, this was at least 2 weeks in advance, but I need time to prep!

After furiously combing the mall the other night, and getting hems and haws from my gal pal, I’m at a loss.  Aside from wearing my brand, spankin’- new, glitter-coated pumps, I’m at a complete loss.  Do I go fancy, with a sequiny dress?  Cute and casual, with skinnies and a festive top?  Casual, with yoga pants and my college hoodie?

I need your help.  What do I wear?  Seriously.

And now for a little of this week’s fashion:

{Leopard top: thrifted} {black pencil wrap skirt: TJ Maxx} {light chocolate tights: Target} {golden pumps: Aldo} {golden belt: thrifted} {white watch: Kohl’s} 

*P.S. Ten points for anyone who can spot the Buzz Lightyear bandaid.

9 Responses to “What do I wear?”

  1. two birds December 16, 2011 at 7:09 am #

    that’s a tough one…but aren’t you glad you realized it wasn’t an ugly sweater party before you went??? do you have black dressy skinnies? maybe those with a festive top. have fun!

    • KB December 19, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

      I have been on the hunt for black skinny cords! I have a feeling I could pull them off as dress pants…? Maybe!

  2. Taylor December 16, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    I’m at a loss to girl! I thought I knew until i got an actual invite in the mail!

  3. H. E. Lexus December 16, 2011 at 9:10 am #

    Very nice outfit here. I say where this to the party. 😉

  4. Stanci December 16, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

    I have to say – and I’m not being trite, I mean it – wear something a little edgy for you that is FUN. Know what I mean?? You don’t get to dress for something like this very often, so go big or go home. And that means the glitter pumps. If you’re in something that you LOVE, your confidence will fit in at any party. (That’s the trite part I was trying to avoid, but I really do mean it with my whole heart.)

    • KB December 19, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

      I love this advice, so so much. It’s precisely why we’re friends! ❤

  5. Abi December 16, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    I’m going to suggest: Black skinnies (or leggings) with a delicate top ( meaning out of a more delicate fabric…and i’d probably go with black or some other neutral ) with a good cardigan ( also a neutral ) belted. you’re sparkle pumps, and totally understated jewelry. Hair up in a loose ‘do. That’s what i’m thinking. 🙂

    • KB December 19, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

      I love your style, Abi…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekend recap: I need help, leather, and a good dose of weird « The Chic Teach - December 17, 2011

    […] Friday: You gave me advice on being a grown up, fashion freak, going to a legit event. […]

Leave a Reply

