Very Superstitious

12 Dec

Once I dated a guy who said, “I make my own luck!”, to which I responded, “Oh, really?  I rely on lucky pennies.”

Okay, I didn’t really say that, but I thought he sounded kind of pretentious, let’s get real.  I mean, the whole notion of luck is that something is completely out of your control, right?

So, after I shared my weird superstition about the locket last week, it got me thinking.  How superstitious is the average person?

Take my pal, Jeff, for example.  He once told me, “K, I think we’ve met in our astral planes, two souls who were  connected at another time, destined to be together again.”  Aw, what a sweet notion that I don’t believe for two seconds (Love you, Jeff)!

And my gal pal Taylor?  She has an entire astrology/relationship book memorized, cover to cover.  So when I meet someone new, you know who’s on my speed dial.

I’m not sure when I became such a superstitious person.  I mean, I think aliens are bogus, try not to laugh out loud at conspiracy theories, and was raised in a astrology averse home.

All I know is, now, I have a mound of lucky pennies piling up on my desk, an open window of astrology.com, a giant dream catcher over my bed, and a pot of love potion brewing in my kitchen.

So, I’d say I’m pretty superstitiously average.

{black ruffled tank: some boutique in Kansas City}  {high-waisted denim: F21} {rust sweater: Old Navy} {leopard wedges: Target} {gold skinny belt: thrifted} {white watch: Kohl’s} {ring: gift}

3 Responses to “Very Superstitious”

  1. Taylor December 12, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    Getting shout outs on your blog makes me super happy 🙂 Almost as happy as those lovely high waisted denim pants! Love you, Scorp.

    • KB December 12, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

      Thanks, sister! I was a smidge starstruck, that’s for sure. These pants are way cuter than they photograph, but I try to ignore the weirdo fit they have in the photos.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekend recap: I need help, leather, and a good dose of weird « The Chic Teach - December 17, 2011

    […] Monday: I got a little weird […]

Leave a Reply

