My first love

9 Dec

At the tender age of 18, I had my first “love”.  We’ll call him Pauly.

Pauly was everything an 18-year-old could want!  He was funny, totally adorable, and one of the first guys to show me genuine interest.  Remember, I was a loner?  So, as I was perusing the aisles of Urban Outfitters some 7 winters years ago, I saw this locket, and I knew it belonged around my neck.

Everywhere I went, people asked if it was a real locket.  I’d gladly display the one-inch photo locked inside, beaming from ear to ear about my new love.

My locket even went with me to the E.R. once, and I considered it the lucky charm that kept me well during that terribly scary visit.

So, when things went south with Pauly, as many first loves do, the necklace took its new place on a tucked away shelf.  Only recently did I rediscover it, along with all the memories I shared with him.

But, instead of a refilling the insides with a photo of a handsome love, this time I think a cupcake or golden retriever puppy would be more fitting.

{striped top: Thrifted}  {rust high-waisted skirt: Urban Outfitters} {chevron navy leggings: Gap} {taupe vintage boots: E-bay} {knee-high socks: Kohl’s} {brown belt: thrifted} {locket: Urban Outfitters}  {watch: Kohl’s}

5 Responses to “My first love”

  1. H. E. Lexus December 9, 2011 at 8:55 am #

    Another great outfit. 😉

    • KB December 11, 2011 at 10:19 am #

      Thank you, as always!

  2. andrea k (blonde bedhead) December 11, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    cute cozy outfit! love the color combo and your hair!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekend recap: first loves, gift giving, and wardrobe malfunctions « The Chic Teach - December 10, 2011

    […] Friday: My first love GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "entertainment"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "travel"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "books"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  2. Very Superstitious « The Chic Teach - December 12, 2011

    […] after I shared my weird superstition about the locket last week, it got me thinking.  How superstitious is the average […]

Leave a Reply

