Switch up, change up

6 Dec

Since I have extremely low-key, low-maintenance friends, I don’t know how long it takes the average woman to get ready.

I do know that when I used to straighten my lady locks, every single day, it took me at least an hour to do my hair.  That doesn’t even take into account the time it took to ready my teeth, gird my loins, OR pick out shoes.

Ridiculous, preposterous, and such a waste of time, looking back.

Remember this day? I think I tried on literally 95% of my wardrobe.  Granted, I don’t have the biggest wardrobe, but still.  Everything I donned either didn’t look right, made me look overly voluptuous (unflattering), or just wasn’t fitting my mood.  So animal print and bright colors were my go-to choice.

That being said, I have a rule for myself and this blog.  If you see me wear it on the blog, I wear it in the real world.  I mean, why would I show you guys things I supposedly wear as an educator, and then change it for my real life?

In the words of my students, “that’s scandalous”.

So, even though my outfit started out like this:

I took one look at the photos, wasn’t feeling it, and ran inside and changed, tripping up the steps I was running so fast.  I braved the frigid weather, TWICE, and knee bruises, for you, my faithful reader.

{black velvet blazer: Express, thrifted}  {purple t-shirt: F21} {scalloped suede skirt: F21} {sage tights: Kohl’s} {vintage scarf: flea market} {lavender knee socks: Kohl’s} {vintage black boots: gift}

4 Responses to “Switch up, change up”

  1. H. E. Lexus December 6, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    Love the outfit… I would vote for heels in place of the boots… But that is my odd preference. 😉 You look great as is!!! 😉

  2. Stanci December 6, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    OMZ, I love it so much!! Eechooup.

    • KB December 7, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

      ❤ you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekend recap: first loves, gift giving, and wardrobe malfunctions « The Chic Teach - December 10, 2011

    […] Tuesday: Switch up, change up […]

Leave a Reply

