Stress Eaters Anonymous

30 Nov

Directly next to my desk, beside the drawer bursting with Dr. Seuss stickers, thank you notes, and ink pads, lies my top-secret stash.

Stash of snacks and other sugar-refined goods, that is.

However, since it’s my first year of teaching, stress and roller coaster emotions have forced me to eat through the entire drawer of goodies.  You see, anytime I’ve not wanted to deal with something (grading, planning, or eek! confrontation), I’ll conveniently grab a mini-Twix, take a deep breath, and everything becomes okay.

So yesterday, when one of my little babes was complaining that he had eaten “only one waffle!” for breakfast, I plunged into the abyss of empty candy wrappers. To my surprise, I pulled out one of my few remaining Clif Bars, Maple Nut, to be exact.

Begrudgingly handing over the last of my precious rations,  I watched as my student slowly unwrapped my beloved bar with greedy, Gollum-like eyes.

I continued to peruse the room, checking in with my students for the morning, when moments later, I noticed the starving one’s Clif Bar had magically disappeared.

Feeling my eyes on him, my student declared, “OH, Miss B, I ate it really fast!  Told ya I was hungry!”, I marched over to the trashcan, to see it lying on top, hardly a bite even missing.  My teacher glare cast his way, he snipped, “What?!  It was gross!”

Sigh.  One Clif Bar down.  Only one more to go.

I need a mini-Twix, stat.

 Details:: floral print dress {Target}; riding leggings {Kohl’s};  pleather bomber {Target}; tan boots {thrifted vintage}; owl earrings {gift}; white watch {Kohl’s}

6 Responses to “Stress Eaters Anonymous”

  1. two birds November 30, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    kids just never appreciate the finer things in life! i love your jacket…it works perfectly with the floral skirt!

    • KB November 30, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

      Thank you! This was my black Friday find. I’m quite fond of it 🙂

  2. Kelsey November 30, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    Blame. their. parents. “Here kids, this is what food with real ingredients that you can actually pronounce tastes like.”

    • KB December 1, 2011 at 6:40 am #

      My poor kids will probably only eat hummus and eggs. They’re screwed!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Recap: Christmas, stress eating, and fake pregnancy « The Chic Teach - December 4, 2011

    […] away from Twilight, and keep yourself entertained with the posts from this week: a Christmas tale, stress eating confessions, and pregnancy accusations. Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  2. I need an intervention « The Chic Teach - January 18, 2012

    […] no secret, folks.  I eat when stress […]

Leave a Reply

