What doesn’t kill you, makes you a teacher

21 Nov

It was June 2010.

My first true love had just broken up with me and left me deserted in the deepest pit of hopelessness and despair.

Sigh.  

My family tried, in vain, their best to cheer me.  But my job was sucking the life right out of me.  And my program at school?  Don’t even get me started!

So, I did what anyone in the midst of a 1/5 life crisis would do!  I toured a culinary arts school.

Walking through stainless steel kitchens, I caressed chef whites, imagined myself whipping up crème anglaise with my classmates, or dicing up geometrically perfect cubes of onion.  After leaping through 17 1/2 different hoops and sitting through countless spiels, I was prepared to sign on the line and enroll on the spot.

There was just, like, 10 catches.  

My years spent getting an education about education would prove to be a waste.  Countless thousands blown on my personal improvement was flushed down the toilet of academia.  I would have to start $60,000 fresh and embark on an entirely new journey.

By this point, I was more than okay with this.  If making an enormous life change meant leaving the hurt and disappointment of a lost love behind, I was willing to do just about whatever it took.

But, somehow, somewhere, deep inside my being, I knew something didn’t fit.  The walls of the culinary school?  They were too stark.  And the kitchen?  It was too clean.  Not to mention the $200 chef’s whites!  What a rip off.

I left that day knowing I would have to suck it up and finish my education.  I would student teach and try my best to help kids.

17 months later, I made the best decision I could have ever made.  No only am I a teacher.  Oh man, that’s just the tip of the ice berg!  I’m a rapper, actor, magician, and entertainer all in one.  And occasionally, when they get really lucky, I can be their personal chef, too.

So yeah, I made the best decision for me I could have made.  Besides, what chef gets away with wearing heels daily?

Details:: striped dress {F21}; rust sweater {Old Navy}; turquoise tights {Kohl’s};  gold heels {Aldo}; white watch {Kohl’s}; necklace {vintage; gift from gran}; belt {gift} 

One Response to “What doesn’t kill you, makes you a teacher”

  1. jeanette l. johnston November 23, 2011 at 8:27 am #

    Looking Pretty Sassy Sis! Here I thought Teachers only wore Dr. Shoals! HA

Leave a Reply

