All the small things

14 Nov

Since I started living on a budget a few months ago, the amount of time and money I spend shopping has been drastically cut.  Don’t get me wrong!  I still window shop regularly and unashamedly drool over things well beyond my budget.

But since I’ve curtailed my spending, I’ve had to get a bit creative with what I already have on hand.  I mean, I can’t wear the same outfits daily; if not for blog content purposes, I have to avoid fashion boredom!

To be honest, though, up until recently I was positively awful at accessorizing.  Not only was I clueless about what earrings went with what, my favorite shoes were a pair of gold flats.  The goldies were worn with everything.  Jeans?  Yes.  Shorts?  Absolutely!  A formal dress?  Perfect match.  At the time, I was doing the best I could with what I had.

But finally, after countless trials and errors, I’ve grown comfortable experimenting with accessories.

You see, the outfit below started out as a simple dress and tights.  But it was missing something.  So, I threw on a skinny, metallic belt to cinch my waist.  Next, since I knew it was nippy out, I forced myself to layer, against my will.  19 sweater changes later, the black and gray was still too depressingly devoid of color, especially compared to my normal ensembles.  I clipped on my ever trusty turquoise fish necklace and greenish seashell earrings.  Four rings later, and voilà!  Done and done.

So, find what works for you.

It’s like growing into your skin as a teenager.  You’ll experiment a lot and probably end up making a fool of yourself at some point, but eventually you’ll come into your own.

Details:: black wrap dress {thrifted}; turquoise sweater {Old Navy}; silver skinny belt {gift};  grew and black tights {TJ Maxx}; fish necklace {F21}; pearlized earrings {F21}; grey suede flats {Target}; rings {gifts}

4 Responses to “All the small things”

  1. Kelsey November 14, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    There is nothing wrong with gold ballet flats…especially if they glitter.

    • KB November 14, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

      There is something wrong if you wear them everysingleday with everysingleoutfit until the soles fall off.

      • KB November 14, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

        BTW. I wept the day I threw them away.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Everybody’s coughing for the weekend « The Chic Teach - November 19, 2011

    […] Despite appearances, I pulled together two outfits in one on Friday, told you about my googly eyed neighbor, and rocked some seriously flat hair. […]

Leave a Reply

