Nothin’ but the truth

11 Nov

I really, truly, despise layers.  Maybe it’s because my body temperature is about 11 degrees higher than the average human.   But coats, sweaters, hoodies, and all other winter garb send me into a panicky sweat at the thought of donning them.

I’m addicted to hummus.  You see, I’m allergic to all things dairy, and hummus is quite possibly the world’s best cheese replacement.  Skeptical?  Eat it with eggs.  Mix it into rice and/or pasta.  Put it on a spoon.  I don’t even miss dairy…but I do want this, now.  For breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  And I’ll gladly reap the consequences of that terrible decision.

I’m happy being single.  How about we stop worrying about when we’re going to find Mr. Awesome, and start worrying about making our life and ourselves 110% awesome?  This is my mantra.

And finally.

I own 17 pairs of tights.  And counting.  Let’s get real!  Tights are like Spanx’ cuter, more attractive sister.  I tend to get mine on clearance from Kohl’s or TJ Maxx for mere pennies (Like $4).

What are you feeling honest about today?



Details:: striped dress {thrifted}; grey sweater {Kohl’s}; brown belt {F21};  golden yellow tights {TJ Maxx}; heart necklace {Urban Outfitters}; pearlized earrings {F21}; wooden bracelets {gift from gran}; brown leather boots {vintage}

7 Responses to “Nothin’ but the truth”

  1. two birds November 11, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    i think i could eat hummus every day. i just had some that was called tangy lemon hummus and it was my favorite yet! i have never counted my tights (because i know i am a tights hoarder), but i agree…they make my whole winter! i absolutely love your whole outfit and that adorable necklace pulls it all together!

    • KB November 14, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

      Wait, WHAT?! Tangy lemon hummus? I need this in my life, ASAP. Thank you for the sweet words. Sometimes I wonder if my accessories are too much, then I think “Um, who cares? I’m dressing for me.”

  2. Stanci November 14, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    My honest: I love hummus and I DO eat it every day. I do not hoard tights, and I love layers. I am horrible at starting a huge project, not finishing, starting another, not finishing, starting another…..and so on. I’m currently in the middle of 3. Thank god I finished a 4th this weekend. I’m a closet slob. Everything else looks fabulous – but never open the closet.

    That is all……….well…….maybe……

    • KB November 14, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

      Wait you are bad at starting things and not finishing them? I wouldn’t know what you mean. I don’t have half-made vision boards, half sewn clothing, or half written books. That would just be ABSURD. Oh, wait. Crap.

  3. Alison Kesinger November 14, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    I eat hummus EVERY DAY for lunch + a Honey Crisp (when I’m not traveling). LOVEIT. Someday if you come visit the fabulous Burg, I need a date to that new Zenblenderz. I can’t justify eating out by myself. 🙂

    • KB November 14, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

      Wait, apples with hummus? I’m intrigued.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. All the small things « The Chic Teach - November 14, 2011

    […] metallic belt to cinch my waist.  Next, since I knew it was nippy out, I forced myself to layer, against my will.  19 sweater changes later, the black and gray was still too depressingly devoid of color, […]

Leave a comment