the truth about vegetarians

7 Nov

I was perusing Whole Foods last Thursday, unashamedly taking advantage of the free samples and cheese tasting.

After having my fill of roasted chestnut soup (bland), local cheese (too salty), and blueberry pie jam (just right!), I came to my final tasting destination.

It was crab stuffed salmon.

Now, it’s time for a small Chic Teach confession.  You see, for about 2 years now, I’ve been a vegetarian.  Those who know me best would respond with, “Yeah, vegetarian until BBQ pork ribs are involved”, to which I would respond, “touche”.  I can live without bacon, hamburgers, and heck, even without all other BBQ.  But put a plate of burnt ends in front of me, and suddenly the pig on my plate evolves into something entirely succulent and irresistible.

So when I heard the words “crab stuffed salmon”, all memory of my veggie-based diet escaped from my mind.  I bounded down the aisle, knocked over a few small humans, and waited patiently for my tiny dish from the oceans afar.

But alas, there was only 1 more serving.   I was in competition with a small, curly headed woman with a hopeful grin on her glowing little face.  She wanted that crab more than I did.

“You know what, you go ahead and take it”, I said, and I patted her shoulder, grinned “Happy Holidays!” and waltzed my way to the checkout.

I’d like to say I was simply spreading good energy and positivity for the holiday season, but by God, that crab looked crispier than a 1990s perm.  From now on, if I’m going to invalidate my vegetarianism, it’s go pork or go home.

Details:: striped top {F21}; black skirt {TJ Maxx}; black leggings {Target}; red patent belt {Gap};  red suede wedges {Target}; rings {all gifts}

7 Responses to “the truth about vegetarians”

  1. Stanci November 7, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    Love it!! I couldn’t agree more……a small diversion from the chosen path had darn well better be worth it……like burnt ends………mmmmmmmmm………

    • KB November 9, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

      HA! I’m convinced sometimes we share a brain!

  2. two birds November 8, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    you crack me up! just found your blog…love it! i have been a vegetarian for about 22 years now, and people are always amazed that i don’t eat bacon! i guess the thing i miss the most is sea food…so i understand where you’re coming from!

    • KB November 9, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

      Bacon is probably the LAST thing I’d miss! I mean, it smells good, but is just “meh”.

  3. jeanette l. johnston November 8, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    I still say it is because of all the Pork Chops Ma would eat when she was pregnant with you!!!

    • KB November 9, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

      That’s gotta be it, ma!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Elektrische Zahnbuerste - November 27, 2011

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Informations on that Topic: thechicteach.com/2011/11/07/the-truth-about-vegetarians/ […]…

Leave a Reply

