Hips don’t lie

26 Oct

Being an early bloomer is a very odd experience for a girl.

I vividly remember getting teased on the playground, solely because I looked a heck of a lot less like a 10 year old, and more like a middle schooler.  I mean, I felt like a kid on the inside, but looked like a grown up on the outside!

Or so I thought.

Looking back at pictures, I realize how ridiculously young I was AND looked.  I essentially gave myself a complex, as we often do when we’re “different”.

I remember having this same feeling on my last birthday when I saw a photo of myself.  In the picture, I was positively glowing, as the Kansas City skyline framed me.  It was the perfect picture to reflect the inward joy I was feeling.  Yet, as my eyes scanned over the photo, I was inwardly critiquing the way my shirt fit, how my makeup looked, and finally, how enormous my hips were.

“Oh, dear God, are they that big in real life?!”  I think I even asked it out loud.

Feelings of embarrassment and shamefulness came welling up in me once again, just as they had on the playground 14 years before.  But rather than deleting the photo and succumbing to the self-conscious habits of 24 years of life, I reacted differently this time.

I posted the heck out of that photo.  It ended up on my old blog.  And even on Facebook, too!  I refused to be stifled by my insecurities.

So, in honor of approaching my 25th year of life, which I’m convinced will be the best year yet, I will again embrace the hips that let me do this, and this, and this.

 

Details:: crochet cardigan {thrifted}; coral tank {Old Navy}; jeggings {Kohl’s}; golden belt {thrifted}; denim cork wedges {Payless}; watch {Kohl’s}; vintage wooden bracelets {gift from Gran} 

6 Responses to “Hips don’t lie”

  1. Mandy October 26, 2011 at 8:10 am #

    Miss lady, you are truly beautiful! I look forward to the day when my curves are less like mine and more like yours. :). Keep living life friend!

    • KB October 29, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

      Mandy! You’re beyond gorgeous, don’t fool yourself! ❤

  2. Abi Schwaller October 26, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    you’re on tonight, and your hips don’t lie, na na na na nanana somthing spanish.
    I love that you embrace those beautiful curves! I am trying to do the same- you have given me a hope that maybe I can pull of jeggings…maybe. 🙂

    • KB October 29, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

      “Na na na na something spanish” HA. This is why I love you.

      Girl, jeggins are much less about HOW you look, versus HOW you strut your stuff. Your curves are something I’ve loved for a long time. Is this weird??

  3. jeanette l. johnston October 30, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    Hip, Hip, Hooray Sissy! Your Curves are Beautiful and so are You! I Love this Post!!!

    • KB October 31, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

      Shucks, thanks ma!

Leave a Reply

