You can take the girl out of the 80s…

21 Oct

I’ll never forget 9th grade picture day.

It happened to fall smack-dab in the middle of my bizarro 1980s fixation.  As Corey Hart owned my Napster account and Say Anything blared on repeat,   neon track jackets swelled out of my ever-growing, “vintage” wardrobe.

I was, in every sense of the word, obsessed.

 My high school BFFs.

 

Eventually, I traded up from Napster to iTunes, and from polyester tracksuits to vintage suede.

But these legwarmers?  You can pry them out of my cold, dead hands.  Because you can take the girl out of the 80s, but sometimes you can’t take the 80s out of the girl.

 

 

Details:: sweater dress {Kohl’s; $4}; golden tights {TJ Maxx; $3}; patterned scarf {F21; $8}; belt {Kohls; gift}; legwarmers {Target; $6}; vintage pirate boots {Thrifted; gift}; owl earrings {gift from student}

12 Responses to “You can take the girl out of the 80s…”

  1. Kelsey October 21, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    Omgeee I LOVE this look. I’ve been trying to find some boots that fit well enough over my gargantuan calves to have room for leg warmers/socks underneath. Toats adorbs.

    • KB October 23, 2011 at 2:35 am #

      Thank you! I, too, have curvaceous limbs. All of my boots I’ve found at thriftstores, and probably have upwards of 10 pairs, which probably cost me under $50 total. Mind blowing.

  2. Jeff Driskill October 21, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    This is awesome, you look so beautiful Kayla. =)

    • KB October 23, 2011 at 2:35 am #

      Thank you, love! ❤

      • jeanette l. johnston October 24, 2011 at 2:54 am #

        Although I Love your Grown up Look! This High School picture was always one of my Top Favorites!!!

      • KB October 25, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

        It’s always a classic, ma! Thanks for having as much appreciation for it as I do 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A weekend recap: I got my groove back, got sick, got real « The Chic Teach - October 23, 2011

    […] reader, for keeping up with The Chic Teach.  You sat by and listened to my drone on about my lingering obsession with the 1980s.   You put up with me in sickness and in health.  And you even listened to me get mushy with my […]

  2. A walking, talking rainbow « The Chic Teach - November 4, 2011

    […] called me “pretty”.  Now, this is by no means a stab at the people around me!  See, as I’ve alluded to before, I had quite a bizarre fashion sense, hairstyle (or lack thereof), and all around look.  I […]

  3. Nothin’ but the truth « The Chic Teach - November 11, 2011

    […] striped dress {thrifted}; grey sweater {Kohl’s}; brown belt {F21};  golden yellow tights {TJ Maxx}; heart necklace {Urban […]

  4. My first love « The Chic Teach - December 9, 2011

    […] was funny, totally adorable, and one of the first guys to show me genuine interest.  Remember, I was a loner?  So, as I was perusing the aisles of Urban Outfitters some 7 winters years ago, I saw this […]

  5. Perhaps, perhaps, perrrrhaps « The Chic Teach - January 13, 2012

    […] no secret that I’ve always been (and still am) far from […]

  6. Fashion victim! « The Chic Teach - March 9, 2012

    […] and call me fashion-less!  Scarves are my very favorite fashion accessory, seen here, here, and here (as well as 90% of my other […]

Leave a Reply

