Time for Some Mushy Gushy

20 Oct

As I alluded to on Monday, if you’re not a fan of talking about feelings or hearing about the mushy gushy, then feel free to skip this post.  Fashion posts will resume, as normal, soon.

I’ll keep it brief.

On Sunday, it felt as if my mind and heart were being pulled in 39 opposing directions, and I was one giant cluster of confusion, stress, and general disorganization.  It was the kind of thing that even a visit to the makeup counter couldn’t fix.

I know, right??

I attempted to stifle my racing thoughts, smothering them with more work, task lists, and endless dinner dates.  It wasn’t until I was sitting behind my desk, cutting out laminated signs, when it hit me.

What the heck, exactly, is my purpose for doing what I do?  What is the bigger picture, of, you know, LIFE.

And I realized, I had no flippin’ clue.   I’d begun to loose sight of my intention for existing.  It’s too easy to get caught up in the go-go-go, meetings, planning, and enjoyment of life, it’s easy to forget what the heck I’m actually here to do.

So, naturally I journaled approximately 10 pages of grossly personal feelings, made a necessary but crappy phone call, and began to get my life back in order.

And now I have life completely figured out.

Just kidding!

But at least I have a giant leap towards focusing my 999 miles-per-minute brain.

3 Responses to “Time for Some Mushy Gushy”

  1. Stanci October 20, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    Love it. In my 20s, I always thought I would never forget that lesson, never be in that place where I got lost in the million things and forgot about the one important thing. Silly naive girl! I do forget. But I think those who remember that there IS one thing, to live with intention and come back to that, are the lucky ones. You’re an amazing person and I’m so happy I know you. xoxoxo.

    • KB October 21, 2011 at 9:33 am #

      I couldn’t agree more, friend. Sometimes I have to verbally remind myself, out loud, to chill the freak out. Please tell me I’m not alone 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A weekend recap: I got my groove back, got sick, got real « The Chic Teach - October 23, 2011

    […] Anyway, before I head back into my classroom for the duration of the day, I wanted to thank you, faithful reader, for keeping up with The Chic Teach.  You sat by and listened to my drone on about my lingering obsession with the 1980s.   You put up with me in sickness and in health.  And you even listened to me get mushy with my feelings. […]

Leave a Reply

