She’s an Animal!

29 Sep

I credit my love for all things animal print to two people in my life:

#1)  Andrea, of Blonde Beadhead

#2)  My ma

Growing up, my mom was a single parent, who always put her kids’ wants and needs far above her own.  She never needed fancy things, never took trips with her girlfriends, and never went shopping for herself.

Ever!  Obviously, my ma is a far better woman than I’ll ever be 🙂

In the last few years, however, my brother and I have started to blaze our own trails.  It’s been fascinating to see my ma reestablish her social network, take more time to do what she wants, and even start to shop for her very own accoutrements.

Don’t get me wrong, my mom has always been beautiful and has taken care of herself, but now she’s finally stopped worrying about her kids long enough to reestablish who she is as a woman.

Along this process, she’s also developed a secret obsession for all things animal print.

It’s bizarre!  My mother and I couldn’t be more opposite about our tastes in fashion, but somehow, we have both grown a bit addicted to the leopards, zebras, cheetahs, and cougars of fashion.

Not these cougars, though.

So, when I found this tank that can be worn FOUR different ways, I shed a single tear of joy.  I would not only be satisfying the cheapskate within, but I knew a small part of me was becoming more like my mother.

And you know what?  I’m quite alright with that.

Details::  four-print tank {thrifted; $4}; cotton skirt {JCrew $50}; teal tights {American Apparel; $13}; denim cork wedges {Payless; $20}; shell earrings {Forever21; $5}

2 Responses to “She’s an Animal!”

  1. jeanette l. johnston September 30, 2011 at 8:01 am #

    I am Wild about your outfit! Love all the Fun colors! My Love Ma

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What you missed this week: my perfect world, four shirts in one, and embracing beauty « The Chic Teach - October 2, 2011

    […] Thursday, I went BTTW and sported 2 animal prints with teal tights.  Don’t think.  Just do it. […]

Leave a Reply

