But, I’m Beautiful!

28 Sep

 

One lesson I’ve learning in my first year of teaching is that children freely give brutally honest commentary about any and everything.

They will let you know when you look pregnant or remind you you’re having a wretched hair day.

And they’ll never miss an opportunity to mock your mint green boots and let you know in math class that you’re most definitely wrong about 8 x 8.

Apparently it’s 64.  Who knew!

 

It’s not always bad, though.

 

Yesterday, I was  conversing with one of my most entertaining and vivacious students.

Student:  What did so-and-so do to get in trouble?

Me:  Mind your business!  You’re nosy!

And then he turned his head, lowered his voice, and sighed, “Ms. B, I’m not nosy…I’m beautiful.”

 

It must be like when your kid cusses for the first time: you can’t get mad, because you’re trying to not laugh.

 

So this week, if anyone dares confront me about anything, I’ll just respond with, “I’m not rude…I’m beautiful.”

If it works for my 10 year old student, surely it will work for a 24 year old professional.

Right?  Right.

 

Details::  cotton striped dress {TJ Maxx; $10}; crochet vest {JC Penny; $25}; yellow wedges {Target; $6}; patterned grey tights {Vera Wang for Kohl’s; $5}; vintage scarf {Gran’s closet; $gift}; 


4 Responses to “But, I’m Beautiful!”

  1. Stanci September 28, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    I love that!!! What a cool kid to hang out with every day. P.S. You inspire me – I went into Francesca’s the other day because of one of your posts. I’m in love!

    • KB September 29, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

      He’s definitely a character, that’s for sure 🙂 Didn’t you love it?! I can’t go often, because it totally breaks my cheap-o bank. But it’s a precious store!

  2. Jeff Driskill October 21, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    I’m stealing this too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What you missed this week: my perfect world, four shirts in one, and embracing beauty « The Chic Teach - October 2, 2011

    […] Hump Day, I shared with you some student shenanigans.  And wore my yellow wedges for the 175,987 […]

Leave a Reply

