Halloween inspiration

23 Sep

Happy Autumn!  Can we spend today sleeping in, eating cider doughnuts, and wearing pajama pants?  Ignore responsibilities, friends!  Let’s just embrace the autumnus upon us!

Okay, back to reality.

While we’re on the subject of this season, could someone please tell me why Halloween is an excuse to be as undressed as possible?

I’ve never understood this philosophy, and have tried to buck the trend in year’s past, by going more silly than scandalous, more obnoxious than sleazy.

But I’m running out of ideas, people.

Raphael from TMNT?  Been there.

Sarah Palin of “you betcha!” fame?  Done that.

Even last year I was at a loss.

Lady Gaga, the natural choice, was too overdone.

As I perused the aisles of Walmart and Halloween Express, I couldn’t find anything but the classic nurses and beer wenches.

I quizzed all my friends and made a list of the ginger celebrities we knew, and a light bulb exploded in my brain!

Joan Holloway of Mad Men fame was my fashion muse at the moment, despite her exceptionally loose morals.  She must be my Halloween inspiration!

In one hour’s time, I had ripped through my wardrobe and pulled together a classically beautiful costume rivaling any sketchy nurse.

I marched into my Halloween party with my head held high.  No longer Kayla, but now, Joan.  She embodied my being.

Until I greeted my hostess, who just so happened to be dressed as Princess Peach.

And her whole family followed, dressed as the rest of the Mario family.

And I lost big time.

It’s okay.  I’m over it.  Obviously.

Details::  tweed wool skirt {thrifted; $3}; silk tank {thrifted; $2}; red patent belt {Gap; $4}; red patent heels {Target; $20}; watch {Kohl’s; $50}

2 Responses to “Halloween inspiration”

  1. Alison Kesinger September 24, 2011 at 1:12 am #

    You could soooo pull of Hayley and she has super fun style. But I’m sure you’ve already tossed her around a few years now. 🙂

    • KB September 28, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

      I do have a bit of an obsession/girl crush on her!

Leave a Reply

