She’s gone country

19 Sep

 

Stepping off the train, breathing deeply the musky, polluted air, I felt my shoulders melt down with contentment and peace.

Maneuvering my way up and down Michigan Avenue to Chicago Ave.  Weaving and winding through the hustle of traffic, cyclists, businessmen and runners.  Adrenaline pulsed through my veins as I felt buzzed from soaking in the boundless energy oozing off the streets.

So alive and diverse and awake and endless!  I traversed until blisters forced me to do otherwise, and then I explored some more.

My heart was set.  Mind made up.  I’d unexpectedly found my future home, fallen for a city far from all I’d known to grow and love.

I was a bona fide city slicker.

So can someone, anyone, explain to me this sudden paradigm shift?

My housing hunt has switched from high-rise, midtown lofts, to log cabins with horse stables.

And my iPod?  It’s been overtaken by country’s finest.

Not to mention my closet.  Mercy!  In between all my sky-high heels and backless satin shirts, I’ve tucked away plaids  and mint green cowboy boots that would make any cowgirl weep with envy.

I’m one step away from Carhartt, people*!

I need an intervention.

Send help, by means of one-way ticket to Chicago.

 

Details::  checkered button up {Old Navy; $6}; skirt {Urban Outfitters, $8}; yellow wedges {Target; $7}; belt {Forever21; came with dress}, earrings {Forever21; $3}

 

(Not really, heaven help me the day I step food in a Carhartt store)

2 Responses to “She’s gone country”

  1. H. E. Lexus September 22, 2011 at 6:33 am #

    Very cute… Love the heels… 😉

    • KB September 22, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

      Thank you! They are definitely my most favorite.

Leave a Reply

