Keeping personal style despite dress code: how to wear a head scarf

6 Sep

Prior to becoming a resident of FullTimeJobRealDealTeacherville, I slung espresso for a living (ha!) at a locally owned coffee shop.

It wasn’t out of the norm for caffeine-deprived clientele to make unwelcome comments about my choice of hairstyle (or lack thereof)  and bizarre mixed and matched accoutrements.

Lisa was the ultimate all-star commentator. “Oh, Kayla, you look SO adorable today!  Until I look at your mint green tights.  BLECH.  What WERE you thinking?!”

Well, Lisa, what I’m thinking is, “where in the heavens did you get that adorable hand-stitched Christmas kitten sweater?!”

Sigh.

A few months before deserting my coffee shop roots, the shop was purchased by a new owner.   Most of the new rules bestowed upon us meager baristas involved a much stricter dress code.

My wardrobe possibilities were instantly slashed to bits.  No more skirts.  No more afro locks gracing my shoulders.  And GASP, certainly no more green tights.

The horror!

I had to dig deep within my personal pit of complete disappointment and utter fashion despair, and pull out from the depths of my soul the oldest trick in the book:

the almighty accessory.

My last weeks at the shop may have been spent in jeans and t-shirts, but I slowly and painstakingly rediscovered the power of a good accessory.

Without further ado, I introduce you to one of my personal faves.

The head scarf.

Step 1: Fold a square scarf (I prefer silk) into a triangle shape.

 

Step 2:  Fold up triangle, starting at the straight side of the scarf. Leave the tip of the triangle face-up on the folded scarf.

 

Step 3:  Place the triangle tip side of the folded scarf against the base of your neck, and tie in a not too tight knot at the top of your head.  Don’t tie it TOO tight or it will slip around.

Step 4:  Tuck the loose ends underneath the band of the scarf, and viola! 

 

 

[Ew, that face!]

It also works with rectangular scarves, too!

Step 5: Make sure to channel Rosie the Riveter for the duration of the day.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Keeping personal style despite dress code: how to wear a head scarf”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. From shorts, to tights: hello, autumn! « The Chic Teach - September 8, 2011

    […] Monday, I wrote you an odd little how-to post with some god-awful photos attached to […]

  2. It’s the little things « The Chic Teach - September 9, 2011

    […] my former job, I didn’t understand why so much excitement surrounded the weekends.  My friends and I […]

  3. What you missed this week: embracing dirty hair, cool weather, and jeggings. « The Chic Teach - September 10, 2011

    […] We discussed how to be incredibly lazy and still look incredibly good. […]

  4. The geek teach « The Chic Teach - January 22, 2012

    […] Psst: View the headscarf tutorial here! […]

Leave a Reply

