Thrift store heart break

30 Aug

About 9 years ago, I had my very first real boyfriend.  He was mature, handsome, and 3 whole years older than me.

Every “date”, the two of us would sit and hold hands on my parents’ couch, awkwardly ignoring the sweaty buildup of nerves collecting between our palms.

Afternoons consisted of carting his pesky little brother to the local arcade, as I sacrificed my meager  bank account on “JUST ONE MORE GAME OF WHEEL OF FORTUNE!!”.

And each evening?  We whispered and giggled on my private phone line, endlessly mulling over our deepest dreams and desires.  My young heart soon blossomed into a wise, all-knowing, 16 year old, quickly and deeply “in love”.

I would brag to my high school friends about my super-cool, mature college boyfriend.  “He has a car, you know?  And he doesn’t even have a curfew!”  He was so…dreamy.  And perfect.  And did I mention mature?!

One afternoon, when I’d had my fill of Wheel of Fortune, I cautiously invited him into a small, and very personal piece of my world.

The Thrift Store.

On our drive to Goodwill, my heart began to palpitate and my speech began to stutter, as my mind flew through the lists of possibilities swarming the isles.

Scarves!

Boots!

80’s track suits!

The possibilities…

As we walked in those dusty, dirty doors, I turned to my boy and gushed, “Isn’t this marvelous!  I feel positively HIGH and GIDDY with excitement!”

He slowly turned to me with a look of worry and deep sadness in his eyes, and whispered, “I.  Hate.  Thrift stores.  They make me feel…hopeless!  Depressed!  Empty inside!  I’m going to find a chair and take a nap while you look around.”

My heart dropped.

And that folks?  That was the beginning of the end.

Thank God for life lessons.

Details::  shirt {Forever 21, thrifted, $2}; skirt {Urban Outfitters, $8}; wedges {Target, $6}; belt {thrifted, $2}; hair scarf {thrifted, $2}; bracelets {Kohls, $10}; Watch {Kohls, $55}

**Yes, I made it through 8 hours of teaching in these 5-inch wedges.  I’m insane.

10 Responses to “Thrift store heart break”

  1. Dawn Hunsicker Sanders August 30, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    Girl, I love thrift stores, and people who are haters completely fail to understand the good things in life! I can’t even tell you how many awesome things I’ve gotten from them. The fun lies in picking out the golden gems amidst the sea of bad fashion. He was so not for you.

    • KB August 31, 2011 at 3:36 am #

      This is precisely what I’m saying. You don’t get a thrift store, you’ll never get me.

  2. Kelsey August 31, 2011 at 3:49 am #

    My elementary school teachers never dressed this cute and fashionable. I’m sure you put all the others to shame!

    • KB August 31, 2011 at 11:22 am #

      I’ve actually worked with some extremely chic teachers, and have a few I’d love to collaborate with, blog wise!

  3. Morgan Ashley Allen August 31, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    Damn, girl! You looking fiiine. Love the bandana in your hair. You’ll have to post a tutorial. xo

    • KB September 2, 2011 at 8:07 am #

      GIRL, thank you, seriously. I’ll definitely get one made up. It’s seriously the easiest thing to do, ever, and makes greasy locks look about 100x better.

  4. Rachel Crabtree Cannon September 1, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    hopeless? how about hopeful that people’s old objects have a new home with you and don’t have to be thrown away! hopeful that you can find something cute for really inexpensive and ROCK it. silly boy….by the wayys love the outfit and the awesome shoes for a day at work. those kiddos must lerve the yellow

    • KB September 2, 2011 at 8:09 am #

      This is what I’m saying! Everything at a thrift store has so much more character than the average store.

      And thank you 🙂 Today one girl just stared at my shoes as I walked past, dumbfounded. It was awesome.

  5. H. E. Lexus September 2, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    Very nice look. Great combinations and the heels are fantastic… 😉

    • KB September 2, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 I’m telling you, 2 heels and 1 pair of flats for $15 can’t be beat! That’s why I love Target.

Leave a Reply

