Handmade with love

26 Aug

Once upon a time, I took a sewing class.

I assumed we’d be making quaint little pillows and ill-fitting-t-shirts.  Imagine my delight when I learned we would be making a skirt of our choosing.

I high-tailed it 40 miles to Jo-Ann’s Fabric, and aimlessly drifted about, while caressing chiffon, lusting after shimmering sequins, and nuzzling patterned fleece.  Finally, I settled on an utterly generic, safe, and familiar blue cotton with white polka dots.

Our instructor hissed daily in her high pitched voice about kick pleats, invisible zippers, and hemlines.  I ignored her nagging as I giddily cut and measured, sewed and seam ripped.

Soon, my friends began to flutter around the room with their giddy little faces, twirling in skirts to audiences full of “oooohs” and “ahhhhhs”.  I was sweating, cursing under my breath, and ripping out my seam for the 18th time in a row.

Weeks passed.  Friends began constructing handbag, after onesie, after ill-fitting t-shirt.

And I couldn’t get my freaking hem to line up.

After approximately 6 different zippers, countless tears, and more than a few pep talks from my instructor, my skirt finally came to fruition.

And then I never sewed ever again.

The end.

Details:: shirt {Gap, $7}; skirt {handmade, priceless}; wedges {Payless, $20}, bracelets {Khols, Claire’s, Elementary School I work at, $20, gift, and free, respectively}, rings {Claires and heirloom, both gifts}

4 Responses to “Handmade with love”

  1. Christine August 26, 2011 at 2:57 am #

    Cute! I love the colors.

    • Kayla August 26, 2011 at 11:29 am #

      Thank you! Golden yellow is by far one of my favorite colors to wear.

  2. Stanci August 26, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    LMAO! Brilliant, my friend. Some day, you’re going to take over my job……and the world. xoxox.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Homespun favorite « The Chic Teach - April 4, 2012

    […] But somehow, someway, I skirted by with all As that semester, zero memory of what the heck Excel is, and this awfully constructed skirt. […]

Leave a Reply

